Reviews

 Reviews

The Magic of Finkleton

*******************
July 30, 2012
R&B: Read and Blog (blogging since 2008), posted a wonderful review of The Magic of Finkleton.
This book returned me to the magic of childhood! Though written for children, can encompass all ages in the way of fairy tales of yore. A magical time when things are not what they seem. Well-written to keep anticipation coming, and flows with mystery and curiosity. An old shopkeeper dies and the village farms of Finkleton are instantly inundated with rain. At the same time a home in another village is struck by lightning and burned. What is happening with the weather?

The home that was destroyed happened to belong to the heir to the old shopkeeper’s store and property, and therein lies this delicious story. The displaced family of five arrive in Finkleton and very soon the youngest child makes a mysterious discovery. He keeps it secret but before long his sister, who reads everything readable, learns the secret. But when the weather gets out of control, they must let their older brother know what is happening. Should they tell their parents what they have found? Are there more secrets hidden in the old shop? Is Mother Nature really in charge of the weather?

Please read entire review here.
KC Hilton creates an entire world, not on a different planet, not even in an enchanted forest. No, this is a village surrounded by farms, some very famous and lush farms, in fact the most productive farms and best-tasting produce in the world. But even in such a perfect location, danger can rear its ugly head. I was charmed by this magical adventure and I can tell the next will be exciting, too.
*******************
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Finkleton is a Magical Place!, June 18, 2012

 

By  T. Chaney “book/movie mania” (New Carlisle, OH)

 

This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

As a fan and avid reader of middle grade fiction, I was very excited to read this book when K.C. was nice enough to send me a copy. For one, look at that amazing cover! That alone made me want to read this book. Fortunately, though, I didn’t have to fall victim to taking a risk and reading this based only on the cover; the premise of the story was enough to draw me in.

The story follows three siblings- Jack, Robert, and Lizzy- whose uncle, Harry Finkle, just passed away. Now the children and their parents must move to Harry’s village called Finkleton to maintain his shop. Finkleton is a place where the weather is always perfect, where crops flourish and people are happy. However, the weather has been very different lately and the farmland is beginning to fall. Once in Finkleton, the children begin to discover the many secrets that the villiage and shop hold, and find out that they must restore the magic of this wonderful place before everything falls apart.

Reading this book really brought me back to the old days of reading the Magic Tree House series, a time when those kind of books taught me lessons like keeping your promises, being honest, and working together to solve problems. This book accomplishes same thing in that the characters demonstrate all those important lessons that kids need to learn as they grow. I feel that children will see the growth of these characters in the book and take away a thing or two to use for themselves.

This is definitely a book that I recommend to children ages 8-12. Because the book is set in England, in a time of horses-and-buggies, the language and the writing style that goes with it may be a little challenging for the younger portion of the age group to read, but I think if a parent were to read it to their younger kids, they’d have a lot of fun with it. The 10 to 12-year range shouldn’t have any problems reading this book though.

Bottom line is, I really enjoyed this book and the sense of magic that I felt while reading it. I’m really looking forward to reading the next book and seeing what other adventures the Finkle children have.

~C

You can find this reviewer on http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/233604026 He also has a www.youtube.com account and reviews tons of books!

********************

Readers Favorite: Book Reviews and Awards
Reviewed by Rita V for Readers Favorite
5 Stars! October 14, 2011

http://readersfavorite.com/review/5013

The Magic of Finkleton is a captivating novel written by K.C. Hilton. Siblings, Robert, Jack and Lizzy, are thrown into a bizarre world of mystery and intrigue when their house is burned down in a disastrous thunderstorm, which happens precisely at the same time their Great Uncle Harry dies, leaving them his home and general store in the perfect picturesque town of Finkleton, England. Finkleton is no ordinary town though; the weather is always mysteriously perfect, the crops are overly abundant and its residents are exceedingly happy. Soon after settling in, the children begin discovering astonishing secrets and unraveling clues that aid them to use their unique abilities to help bring the weather back to failing crops and a nearly destroyed village. Why are there hourglasses hooked up on strings to each individual farm? What is the secret lever? What do the maps and scrolls actually point out? The children must find the courage and strength within themselves to figure out their ancestral secrets and set out on a magical adventure to save Finkelton.

K.C. Hilton brings a powerful punch of magic into a fast-paced older children’s book that does not disappoint. I found it to be inquisitive, exciting, and truly fun to read. It is rare to find a book so intricately written in which the reader is actually encouraged to participate. I loved the use of descriptive words; the plot was full of twists and turns, and the depth of the characters was amazingly accomplished. The cover alone had me enthralled and highly anticipating this lovely read! K.C. creates the perfect recipe of magic, adventure and imagination that are all easy to comprehend for older children on up to adult readers. I very much look forward to reading her next novel, The Return to Finkleton, and sharing these wonderful books with my daughter as she gets older. I can easily see K.C Hilton’s series as either a television series or a film series comparable to Harry Potter, and I do not say that lightly. She is truly a genius in her mad writing skills, and this book portrays to all audiences who love a little magic in their life. This is by far, the best novel I have read all year, and if I could have given it ten stars, I would have. Look out world, here comes K.C. Hilton!

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
The Magic of Finkleton – is MAGIC!! September 5, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

In these days of horror and starvation, endless vampires and witchcraft on every TV and Cinema screen who wouldn’t be at a loss to think the devil was at work. So it is
a pure joy to read, ney endulge and get totally lost into the delightful world of FINKLETON. As an Englishman – well Welshman actually with family links to the
aristocracy and a fair knowledge of his language, the idea of an American author from deepest Kentucky writing about a quaint mystical place called Finkleton near Bath (one of my favourite cities) in rich, rural England would you have thought passed me by. I have my biased of course -yet I was given not one Americanism. The characters alive and so beautifully developed and so, so English in their aliveness. Fun, imaginative and a pure delight to be part of the Finkleton life. Unusual and different! You can keep your deep, black Harry Potters of this world this book is pure chemistry! Good Luck KC Hilton! I am proud to be a part of FINKLELAND. Jonathan Evans – Narrator.

5.0 out of 5 stars
A fantastic book you just can’t miss……….. August 28, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

BLURB

Most folks say, “Mother Nature controls the rain.” However this is not the case in the village of Finkleton.

In the perfect little village of Finkleton, the weather is always perfect. Every farm grows the best, biggest, healthiest crops in the entire world, and everyone is happy.

Soon after the Finkles inherit their Uncle Harry’s shop and move to Finkleton, they
discover magical secrets hidden in his shop. One clue at a time, Jack, Lizzy and
Robert learn the town’s amazing secret. No, Mother Nature is not in charge in
Finkleton!

Ever since Uncle Harry’s death, the weather has not been cooperating. Farms are starting to fail. Will the Finkle children be able to solve all the magical mysteries before the village is destroyed?

Come along to Finkleton. A very special, magical adventure is about to begin!

MY REVIEW

I absolutey adored this book… I am 30 and although this book is aimed at middle grade age range, this is definately a story that would appeal to all age ranges. The three main characters (Jack, Lizzy and Robert) were instantly loveable and the way they discovered all of the secrets that Finkleton had to offer, was really enjoyable…

A thoroughly enjoyable read which I would recommend to everyone who likes a bit of magic in their life…

Debra’s Book Cafe 🙂
************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magical!, July 8, 2011

By Literary Classics Book Awards & Reviews – review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

The Magic of Finkleton, by KC Hilton, takes young readers on an exciting literary adventure.

Siblings, Robert, Jack and Lizzy are plunged into a world of intrigue when their house is destroyed in a thunderstorm, a disaster which befalls them at precisely the same time their Great Uncle dies, bequeathing them his home and general store in the picture-perfect town of Finkleton. Soon after moving into the living quarters above their uncle’s shop, they begin discovering magical secrets hidden inside. As they slowly unravel the mystery of Finkleton, the children learn a secret which has been kept within the Finkle family for generations. Vowing to keep their secret safe, the three work together to help keep the magic of Finkleton alive.

KC Hilton has created a vibrant tale of intrigue which is sure to ignite enthusiasm in the minds of young readers.

The Magic of Finkleton earns the Children’s Literary Classics Seal of Approval, a designation reserved for those books which uphold the rigorous criteria set forth by the Children’s Literary Classics review committee, a team comprised of individuals with backgrounds in publishing, editing, writing, illustration and graphic design.

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
great kids book June 12, 2011
By Jerry Nowlin (Friendship, IN)

The Magic of Finkleton will be a great book for kids who’ve moved up to the “chapter book” level, or for parents to read to younger children. No tragedy, no sex, no scary, and no bad language, that is unless you count “daft”. It’s a very enjoyable story.

The Finkle family have inherited their uncle Harry’s general store in the rural town of Finkleton. Uncle Harry’s general store is the hub of this rural community, in ways none of the Finkles can imagine. The three Finkle children each use their unique abilities to keep Finkleton safe and secure. Magic gives this story it’s edge, but good traditional family values, with respectful and obedient children, are what makes this story great. Keep in mind this is a true children’s story. That said, this book is very highly
recommended.

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
“The Magic of Finkleton” is a “must read” for children! June 2, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)
The younger generation will be delighted when reading The Magic of Finkleton by KC Hilton, a wonderfully entertaining book that will keep inquisitive eyes glued to the pages. In my opinion, they will read the book over and over again, designating it as one of their favorites. I say this partially because of the reaction of my own two grandchildren when I allowed them to read the book and offer their opinions. They loved the storyline, especially the magic within the bound pages.Most families find that moving from one home to another in a different area is stressful, especially if their former residence was destroyed by a fire. The Finkle family consisted of William and Emma and their three children: Jack, age 14, Elizabeth, age 12, and Robert, age 8. The Finkles expressed a variety of emotions as they prepared to move from Bath, England to the distant village of Finkleton where Mr. Finkle’s Uncle Harry had lived prior to his passing. The simultaneous timing of the fire and his death was indeed strange but it was a move that would provide this family of five with a general store for earning a living and a second floor that offered them a living quarters. They were optimistic and looking forward to the future. Though the move impacted the
entire family, the children were about to experience a magical adventure that was beyond anything they might have anticipated.Through the author’s imagination, creativity, plotting, and excellent writing skills, young readers will find the story captivating as they identify with the three children in the unfolding, magical drama. Until Uncle Harry died, the weather had almost always
been perfect in Finkleton for growing the best crops in the world. It had indeed been a wonderful place to live, but now the weather was not cooperating, causing some farms to fail.As the story unravels, it becomes obvious that the special skills of the three children play an important role in their future activities. Jack is an organizer, Elizabeth (Lizzy) loves to read books, and Robert has mathematical skills. The three children need to unravel many clues before they can undertake an assignment their Uncle Harry had detailed just for them in a private letter. Many unbelievable secrets need to be unraveled if the children are successful in bringing back perfect weather to the village of
Finkleton.The children do not share the secrets with their parents. Will they be successful in carrying out their mission? Will their special talents help them in this endeavor? In order to find the answers to these questions and to begin a magical adventure in Finkleton, this book is a “must read” for young readers. I highly recommend it and look forward to the author’s sequel.An Independent Professional Reviewer************************************************************************************************
5.0 out of 5 stars
Magical reading for young and young at heart May 8, 2011
By teresa geering (uk)
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

THE MAGIC OF FINKLETON BY KC HILTON

I have yet to read a book from the Night Publishing stables that has not left me in awe of the brilliant writing ability of it’s authors.

The Magic of Finkleton by KC Hilton is no exception.

William Finkles’ uncle dies unexpectedly leaving his store and home to
his nephew. Ironically Williams’ family home is burnt to the ground at exactly
the same time. So the family due to this qwerk of fate relocate to the village
of Finkleton. Sceptics would say `coincidence naturally’ but the dwellers in
Finkleton would state even more clearly `that’s the magic of Finkleton.’

William, his wife Emma and their three children Jack, Elizabeth and Robert settle into their new home and start to become established in the welcoming village. The old fashioned store holds many secrets that the children discover one by one. Elizabeth (Lizzie) the bookworm through her obsessive factual reading of her great uncles’ books. Jack through his obsession with tidyness, and Robert through his obsession with machinery.

The dusty old shop slowly allows each of the children to discover their Great uncles’ secrets. Each child at first is determined to keep their discoveries well hidden from
their siblings until the opportunity arises for them to disccuss their finds in full.

Through trial and error the children correct the crop rotation by learning to control the weather. To state more would give this wonderous storyline away.

As it states in the prologue …….. Some folks say Finkleton holds the luckiest lands in England. Others shrug instead and say that it’s a magical place.

This is a striking book for all ages and which of us can ignore the magic that fate has to offer. I would urge you to buy this book and enjoy it’s magic.

Highy Recommended 5 stars.
Teresa Geering

************************************************************************************************
5.0 out of 5 stars
Great book for youngsters, and enjoyable read for the older as well
June 5, 2011

This is a great book for the young and the young at heart, It is well written and will keep your interest from the first page all the way to the end, It is fun watching the children
discover the magic through the story, as the decisions are left to them to decide what they will do with the secrets the have found, and it is very cute as the children have the normal sibling spats, I loved the feeling of this small magical town in England, A place everyone would love to visit, Young readers will enjoy discovering the Magic of Finkleton along with the Jack,Lizzy and Robert ( the finkleton children) and it leaves you wanting more at the end of the book………GREAT STORY………………..

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
Absolutley Wonderful! May 28, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

Let me just begin this review by stating that this book is NOT a teen or adult book. It’s
plainly stated that it is a children’s book – middle grade, actually. So to the people complaining on Goodreads? You’re not very bright are you? Additionally to those not very bright people on Goodreads, I fail to see how this debut novel from Hilton was predictable or boring.

Harry Finkle, owner of the general store in the middle of the perfect village of Finkleton, has unexpectedly died. William Finkle, Harry’s nephew, and his family has unexpectedly lost their home to a fire. As Harry’s only family, they move to Finkleton and take over the shop. The main characters are not, in fact, the parents, but rather their children Jack (14), Lizzy (12), and Robert (8). There are secrets to be found throughout the store and the rooms in the back. A room full of hourglasses? A library filled with nothing but books on vegetables, fruits, and herbs? An office sporting a large map of the village of Finkleton? What do all of these have in common and can the children figure it all out
before it’s too late?

The book in general is a pretty fast read (only 184 pages) and I’m more than confident that children would find it exciting, fast-paced, and magical. Hell, I’m almost 25 years old and I find it to be what I’ve described. So boring? Nope. Predictable? Not at all. Worth reading to kids (or even for yourself)? Absolutely. Check it out, mes amours.

************************************************************************************************

4.0 out of 5 stars
The Magic of Finkleton by K.C. Hilton,May 26, 2011
By onyx95 “-Debbie” (Oklahoma)
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

Their house burning down left few choices for the Finkle family. Taking over their recently deceased Uncle Harry’s general store in Finkleton was their only option.
Arriving in the small England village after hearing father’s stories of Uncle Harry and his store, each of the three children were intrigued just enough to be looking forward to exploring everything. After a modicum of unpacking, they all wanted to look at the store and the house, Jack was the oldest and was looking forward to learning more of the workings of the store and finding the office in disarray, organizing was his first priority. The middle child and only girl was an avid reader and since the fire had consumed her store of books, she was only interested in the promised room of books. Once there, she quickly figured out how they were organized and selected her first nights reading material with the promise to return for them all at some point. As the youngest, Richard was trying to find his own place when he found something much more interesting. The
lever under the counter seemed to control the rain. Astonished at his find, Richard wanted this to be his secret from everyone, but as the consequences started making themselves clear, her realized he needed hop to make sure Mr. Bad Guy never found out the true secrets of the success of Finkleton.

What an adorable story. Some of the dialogue and wording felt a bit awkward at times, but I was hooked from the start and simply enjoyed it all the way to the end. While it was set approximately 100 or so years ago, this is one of those timeless fantasies. Simply adored all the children even with their sibling rivalry and teasing. This would be a fun book to read with younger kids (5-8) or to let older kids (8 and up) read on their own. It makes for a wonderful story, creative with some great characters, truly a story for all ages.

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great Book! May 14, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

After their house is mysteriously burnt, the Finkles learn that their Uncle Harry had died
the exact same night, and he left all his belongings to them, including his general store. The Finkles pack up what didn’t burn in the fire and move to Finkleton to start a new life. The three children are Jack, Lizzy, and Robert, who are all uniquely different from another. Jack is the oldest and thinks he is the brightest. He enjoys numbers and organizing things. Lizzy is the bookworm of the family, and Robert is the youngest.

The family moves into the apartment above of the general store. Lizzy is sad that all of her books were burnt in the fire, but instantly became happy when her father told her that Uncle Harry had a library in a secret room in the store. Most of the books are non-fiction, and Lizzy wants to read them all. Robert investigates the store and finds a strange room filled with hourglasses that are labeled and has a string attached to each of them, but one of the strings was broken.

The family reopens the store, with a few customers complaining about all the rain because Finkleton use to have the perfect weather for farming. A stranger named Mr.
Lowsley shows up several times asking about land he could buy. Robert doesn’t like this man, and believes that he is up to no good.

Then, Robert pulls on a wood lever hidden in the store and the rain suddenly stops. Did Uncle Harry control the weather in Finkleton? Why does Mr. Lowsly want to buy land in
Finkleton?

When I received this book in the mail, my first thought was “This is a dazzling cover.” After reading the page and a half prologue, I was hooked into the world of Finkleton. It was a nice change to read an original book that doesn’t involve vampires and werewolves. I got a kick out of the kids bickering back and forth in the beginning of the book and enjoyed it when they started to work together to solve the mystery of Uncle Harry’s store. The Magic of Finkleton is a great read for both children and adults!

************************************************************************************************

KC Hilton’s The Magic of Finkleton
(Visit Ramona’s professional site, Altered Words.)

Ages 9-12

Magical Village Inherited by Three Children

Review – The Magic of Finkleton – See FULL REVIEW HERE 

Hilton weaves a wonderful story through the fictitious, yet magical, village of Finkleton.

The story is filled with magical hourglasses, secret levers, and scrolls that are written in riddles; artifacts that assure that each farm gets the precise amount of rain so that their crops grow perfectly, year after year.

The Magic of Finkleton is a delightful story and an entertaining read that begs to have a sequel.

The detail behind the magic is both fresh and creative. Nintendo DS owners may even be reminded of Professor Layton and the Curious Village (Webmaster’s Note: a video game that develops the brain rather than rots it!) in this lighthearted tale – I know I was.

Magic aside, the children in The Magic of Finkleton are portrayed as realistic siblings complete with disagreements, bossiness, and when necessary, camaraderie. As the main characters in the book however, Jack, Lizzy, and Robert are perfectly defined.

While the book is geared towards the 9-12 year old group, younger children will enjoy the secrets, surprises, and magic that Finkleton holds; adults will be kept interested through the the lessons that can be learned and the realism of the family unit working as a team.

The Magic of Finkleton was a simple tale that was attention grabbing from start to finish, and a fun must read for any age group.

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
The Magic of Finkleton,May 3, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

A great book filled with fantasy and magical experiences of three young children. My 10 year old grandson loved the book commenting as he turned practically every page. With
much excitement in his voice and in his actions as he continued to read. He could hardly wait to read the next chapter to unveil the many secrets of the book. We both thoroughly enjoyed the book. He has even recommended it to one of his teachers. Will there be a sequel????

5.0 out of 5 stars
Cute & Adorable! April 29, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

This is a great book for kids to explore their imaginations!!!!
Cute and adorable. A good bedtime and dreams book. The story holds your interest and keeps you reading. You’ll be hooked. The Finkle Children discover magical secrets that
control the weather in Finkleton. They eventually learn that they must work together and to not keep the magical secrets to themselves. A very fun and enjoyable read. All children and young teens are bound to love this book, as well as young adults and adults alike. It’s nice to read a good story.

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
HIghly Recommended! April 28, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

This is a great book! Perfect for Tweens and Young Adults, it will pull you in from the
the first page, and won’t let go until you turn the last page. LOVED IT!!!

 

4.0 out of 5 stars
Great childrens book July 9, 2011
By Bunny S. Cates (Madisonville, KY United States)
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

In the beginning of this story we meet Harry Finkleton, who then he abruptly dies. While reading, I kept thinking The Magic of Finkleton would be an easy way to introduce the topic of a death (which is really a hard topic to introduce to younger ones).

When Uncle Harry passes away we meet the rest of the Finkleton family. Their home is destroyed that same day, and they have to move to take over Harry’s store. The story touches on their loss of the Uncle, and throughout the book the continually talk in remembrance of him. I know I am “reading” a lot into it, but I thought that having them talk about Uncle Harry, etc. Shows younger kids, that may well have not had to deal with “death” yet, that it’s ok. People die, that happens. It’s ok to miss them, and ok to go on remembering them. I just thought it was a wonderful piece of the story.

The book is written for and aimed at children, however, the mysteries kept me (the adult) reading and entertained.

The portrayal of the Finkle family wrung true, with arguing kids who later all come together for a common cause. My favorite character in this book has to be lil Lizzy and her love for books. She has a smart mouth and a love for words. It was refreshing to see children shown to be intelligent and happy to be readers.

From a mom’s perspective, I thought the Magic of Finkleton was great. Would be great for kids say 6+ (with help reading). This review is also available on www.bunnycates.com

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great for Middle Grade July 23, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

I felt this book was wholesome, in the old fashion, good, clean fun way. Three children
discover the house/general store that they have inherited possesses magical capabilities, which in turn helps all the neighboring farmers making the little town of Finkleton very self-sufficient and successful. The kids are responsible for discovering how to keep this success going.

My biggest critique is how the children act. They all seem overly mature for their ages and seem to be the same age when the youngest is 8 and the oldest is 14. I wish there were some variances in the children, to show their ages better.

In the end the children save the day, and Hilton sets up for a sequel. I think parents will be happy with this book.

 

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
Magic of Finkleton July 21, 2011
By Karl Kronlage (Woodbridge, VA USA)
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

There is something pleasing about reading a book aimed at a younger audience. I’m
reminded about why Malcolm Gladwell said Blue’s Clues is more popular than Sesame Street. Blue’s Clues is more obvious. The chair is called a Thinking Chair. Whereas Sesame Street tends to be for adults at times and is a little more sophisticated / subtle, like when Big Bird ponders what would happen if his name was taken away. Children tested perferred Blue’s Clues.

Which brings me to KC Hilton’s book.

Hemingway created a style where less is more. We are supposed to figure out every nuanced reaction. Here we are told what is going through each of the characters heads. We may know that a stomped foot means the child is frustrated, but here we are reminded. A child needs that kind of information. An adult doesn’t. But there is something pleasant, relaxing about reading a book that doesn’t require one to think too deeply about what every physical mannerism means.

And of course there is the fun of getting lost in the magic.

Finkleton is a magical place where secrets must sometimes be kept, and sometimes told. We enter a world before computers, i-pods. Well, actually this is a world before TV, telephones, and even cars. And in this world of Finkleton, everything is perfect for farming because of magic. But when the 80 year-old man passes who is keeping everything in balance, things at Finkleton start to go astray.

The three children are the heroes of this book. Each one has his or her strengths and together they can tackle the problems that they face, but can three children work together? They act like any child would, which makes this charming. And just when things start to straighten out, a new mystery is adding making me wonder if a sequel is in the works.

I’m not an expert on children’s books, but I imagine this is a good book for someone around 7 to 12. Or for adults who are looking for an escape to their inner childhood.

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
Fantabulous, May 11, 2011
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

I absolutely loved this book. Great imagination and fun for me to read. I can easily see this book as the perfect bedtime story.

4.0 out of 5 stars
There is magic in Finkleton August 3, 2011
By Bobbi Rightmyer “brightmyer249” (Harrodsburg, KY USA)
This review is from: The Magic of Finkleton (Paperback)

The world of Finkleton is a fun new world for children to love. What is the secret of the
room of hour glasses and why are there strings attached to each one? Does the lever in the General Store really have an effect on the weather? Mr. Henry Finkle is the owner of the General Store in the town of Finkleton. It seems that people came to Finkle’s General Store not just to buy goods, but also to inquire about the weather.

When Mr. Finkle died, he left his house and store to his nephew, William Finkle. William has a wife, Emma, and three children – Jack, Elizabeth and Robert. Was it a strange coincidence that William and Emma’s home had burned to the ground the same day Uncle Henry died?

The Finkle family moved from their former home in Bath, England across the countryside to the town of Finkleton. Work on the home and store began immediately with Emma cleaning, William buying supplies, Jack working on the store’s bookkeeping, and Elizabeth cleaning Uncle Henry’s library, which she has fallen head over heels in love with. Robert, on the other hand, was doing what Robert did best – snooping and looking for undiscovered treasured.

It is these mysterious and magical features that pull the reader into the world. Hilton is great as pulling elements together so you feel like you are right there. Warning, this book ends as a cliff–hanger, but you don’t have to wait long, because The Return to Finkleton will be released very soon.

************************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars
Clean Enjoyable Read August 2, 2011
By SAW

This was a very enjoyable read. Good clean fun. Filled with adventure. Three children (siblings) move to Finkleton and discover magical secrets inside their Uncle Harry’s store, which their family inherited after his unexpected death. This is a fantasy book but
it’s NOT a ‘dark’ book. It’s cheerful and funny and the children eventually find that working together is better for Finkleton.

I agree with the Seal of Approval awarded to this book. Parents will also agree. My children love this book and tell their friends about it. They are paitently waiting for the sequel.

The only sad thing is that it’s NOT available at any of our local stores (I’ve looked and asked for it) only available to buy online. I think it could be a top seller, because the only books available in our stores, in this age range, are the same-old-same-old stuff (Wimpy, Potter, Percy). My kids get bored looking at the same books on their shelves (they’ve read them). I’m happy to have found this book for my children and they’ve shared it with their friends.

************************************************************************************************

Hilton tells a creative tale of a magical rural village in England.

Uncle Harry Finkle is an elderly man who keeps the village of Finkleton running smoothly; each farm receives exactly the correct amount of rain for the crop grown in its field. Finkleton has never had a bad crop or an unsuccessful business, and nobody ever wants to sell land to outsiders, however desperately the interlopers want to buy. After an unexpected incident, three resident children named Jack, Robert and Lizzy inherit their Uncle Harry’s general store, as well as all its secrets. As the children make discoveries, they find it necessary to keep secrets from their parents, thinking that it’s in their best interest. Hilton writes this tale in a clean, smooth and straightforward manner. Although more mature audiences will easily discern the plot’s movement, there are enough surprises to keep all readers interested. The book moves along smoothly from beginning to end, with realistic portrayals of sibling disagreements, as well as solidarity, throughout the book; conversations and arguments between the siblings suggest Hilton is savvy about familial politics. The author provides little depth to certain characters, notably the parents, though as the central focus of the book, the children are more richly constructed.  Setting details are sparse, with the exception of three rooms in the basement of the general store in which most of the book’s action takes place. The author introduces magical artifacts such as hourglasses, scrolls and weathered maps with a perspective that is fresh and unique. Children and young adults alike will relate to the protagonists and may learn some moral lessons as the children decide to use the magical talismans for the good of the town, and not merely for their selfish desires.

A solid, simple read that encourages altruism while remaining lighthearted.

 

************************************************************************************************

Flamingnet Book Reviews

Flamingnet Student Book Reviewer  SRob0611
I hope all of you have a chance to read The Magic of Finkleton by KC Hiton! It tells about an old man who can control the weather! After he dies, his family inherits his house. The family of Finkles moves in and, while exploring, the kids, Jake, Lizzy and Robert, discover his secret and the adventure begins!

What I liked about this book was that it was a realistic magical adventure. It made me think that this story could actually have happened. I also liked the kids. The kids worked well together but also, acted like siblings. This book is good because it has rich storyline, is full of magic, and has me waiting for the next book in the series! I disliked nothing but that the second book wasnt sent with the first. Hope you all get a chance to read and experience this wonderful book.

Reviewer Age:11, Merced, CA USA

 

 

KC Hilton

KC Hilton

K.C. is a wife, mother and entrepreneur. She self-published the award-winning Finkleton series and My Name is Rapunzel under the pseudonym K.C. Hilton. She currently resides in the great state of Kentucky with her amazing husband and spoiled dog. K.C.’s husband refers to her as Hobbit size and claims that she is “nuttier than a fruit cake.” She owns a complete set of pink tools, believes in aliens and secretly wants to become a badass ninja. In her spare time, she can be found daydreaming about leaving work early to eat chocolate and drink wine. Sometimes her dreams come true.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Share

Leave a Reply